CU School of Education holds pinning ceremony

CU School of Education holds pinning ceremony

Rebekah Murphy, front of Summersville, Ky., waits to be pinned at the School of Education ceremony.
In back is Casey Mattingly of Loretto, Ky. (Campbellsville University Photo by Joan C. McKinney)


By Joan C. McKinney, news and publications coordinator

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. – “As teachers, you take today’s learners and turn them into tomorrow’s leaders,” Dr. Frank Cheatham, vice president for academic affairs, told the graduates at the Campbellsville University School of Education Pinning Ceremony May 4.

Cheatham welcomed those attending the ceremony in the Russ Mobley Theater. Thirty-eight students received puzzle shaped pins that featured the School of Education’s theme of “empowerment for learning.”

Dr. Michael V. Carter, president of Campbellsville University, praised the faculty of the School of Education who love and show dedication to the students. He said they commit to the students and are role models.

He urged the students to think back to the three or four educators who challenged them and “brought out the best in us.” He told them to become a “memorable instructor.”

Carter quoted 1 Peter 3:15: “But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect.”

He told the graduates to “go in perseverance, gentleness and peace.” He told them to become the most effect teachers they can be.

“We see teaching as a form of ministry,” Carter said.

Dr. Brenda Priddy, dean of the School of Education, said the empowerment for learning theme focuses on students being “empowered to know skills and disposition to become excellent teachers.”

She said, “We want you to become the type of people as one who made a difference in life. Student learning is the heart of learning.

Chase Padgett, salutatorian of the class of 2012 from Stanford, Ky., addressed the students and pointed out 18 of the 38 School of Education graduates are honor graduates.

He said the School of Education teachers talked about “reflection” during their classes. “We had to reflect on everything,” he said, “and I discovered that reflection is one of the most powerful tools we have as teachers.”

He urged his fellow graduates to build strong relationships with each student and let the student know you care and don’t get discouraged. He said reflection is a good thing and see how you can work on student-teacher relationships.

“You have received a ‘top-of-the line’ education. Congratulations and good luck. I pray that God will leave a positive and lasting influence on each student in your classroom, ” he said.


Campbellsville University education students, from left, in the interdisciplinary early childhood education program from left are: Front row -- From left: Debra Brady, Dr. Sharon Hundley, Donna White, Denise Spencer, Dr. Frank Cheatham and Dr. Michael V. Carter. Back row –Gwen Atkinson-Sample, Dr. Brenda Priddy, Kristina Fletcher, Sharon Fragier, Tara Johnson, Rhonda Maggard, Betty Roark and Katie Robb. (Campbellsville University Photo by Joan C. McKinney)

The students honored, with the professor who pinned them in parenthesis, were: Interdisciplinary Early Childhood Education (Dr. Sharon Hundley, assistant professor of education and co-coordinator of the early childhood education program) – Gwendolyn Atkinson-Sample of Louisville, Ky.; Debra Brady of Campbellsville, Ky.; Kristina Fletcher of Louisville; Sharon Fragier of Louisville; Tara W. Johnson of Harrodsburg, Ky.; Rhonda Maggard of Stanford, Ky.; Betty Roark of Pine Knot, Ky.; Katie Sue Robb of Columbia, Ky.; Dawn Denise Spencer of Campbellsville; and Donna L. White of Clarkson, Ky.;


Campbellsville University’s P-5, elementary education graduates are pinned by Dr. Carol Garrison, third from right. From left are: Dr. Brenda Priddy with Kim Baker, Autumn Graham, Casey Mattingly, Rebekah Murphy and Kendra Nutter with Dr. Michael V. Carter and Dr. Frank Cheatham. (Campbellsville University Photo by Joan C. McKinney)

P-5, Elementary Education (Dr. Carol Garrison, professor of education) – Kimberly Baker of Louisville, Ky.; Autumn Graham of Summersville, Ky.; Casey Mattingly of Loretto, Ky.; Rebekah Murphy of Summersville, Ky.; Courtney Nichols of Harrodsburg, Ky.; and Kendra Nutter of Danville, Ky.;


From left, 5-9, middle grades education students Lauren Cox, Peggy Gaona and Jessica Hupp are pinned at the Campbellsville University School of Education Pinning Ceremony. At far left is Dr. Brenda Priddy and Dr. Beverly Ennis, Dr. Michael V. Carter and Dr. Frank Cheatham are at far right. (Campbellsville University Photo by Joan C. McKinney)

5-9, Middle Grades Education (Dr. Beverly Ennis, associate professor of education) – Lauren Cox of Campbellsville; Peggy Gaona of Willisburg, Ky.; and Jessica Hupp of Pataskala, Ohio;


Students in 8-12, secondary education at Campbellsville University are from left: Front row -- Dr. Brenda Priddy, Terry Caven, Cody McNeal, Blake Milby, Chase Padgett and Hanna Williams with Dr. Robert VanEst, Dr. Michael V. Carter and Dr. Frank Cheatham at far right. (Campbellsville University Photo by Joan C. McKinney)

8-12, Secondary Education (Dr. Robert VanEst, professor of education) – Andrew Bennett of Summersville, Ky.; Terry Caven of Magnolia, Ky.; Cody McNeal of Campbellsville; William Blake Milby of Campbellsville; Daniel Chase Padgett of Stanford, Ky.; and Hanna Williams of Campbellsville;


The P-12, elementary education students pinned from left are: from left: Front row —Jo Ann Harris, Abby Lanham and Anne Russell Blevins. Back row –Dr. Brenda Priddy, Trevor Ervin, Joe Gupton, Lindsey Harrod, Aubrey Skutt and Bobby Jo Sturm with Dr. Donna Hedgepath, Dr. Michael V. Carter and Dr. Frank Cheatham. (Campbellsville University Photo by Joan C. McKinney)

P-12, Elementary-Secondary Education (Dr. Donna Hedgepath, associate professor of education and associate dean) – Thomas L. Anthony of Louisville; Anne Russell Blevins of Campbellsville ; Staci L. Coffey of Elizabethtown, Ky.; Trevor Ervin of Glasgow, Ky.; Austin Gilliatt of Scottsville, Ky.; Joseph Gupton of Campbellsville;

Jo Ann Harris of Campbellsville; Lindsey Harrod of Springfield, Ky.; Abigail Lanham of Lebanon, Ky.; Jennifer S. Lawless of Russell Springs, Ky.; Aubrey Skutt of Louisville, Ky.; Bobbie Jo Sturm of Glasgow, Ky.; and Tiffany Jo Thomas of Glasgow, Ky.

Campbellsville Singers, made up of Daniel Beams of Campbellsville, Ky.; Jess Harris of Louisville, Ky.; Amelia Herrin of Sonora, Ky.; Blake Herron of Campbellsville; Holly Davidson of Danville, Ky.; Sarah Porter of Harrodsburg, Ky.; Dakota Rogers of Harrodsburg, Ky. and Joe Weber of Campbellsville, performed. Matt Hodge, instructor in music and fine arts recruiter, is the director.

Alena Maggard of Burnside, Ky. led in the Educator Prayer for the benediction. A reception, in the Beulah Campbell Collection Room, followed the ceremony.

Campbellsville University is a widely acclaimed Kentucky-based Christian university with more than 3,500 students offering 63 undergraduate options, 17 master’s degrees, five postgraduate areas and eight pre-professional programs. The website for complete information is

Download Printable Document