Congressman Honors CU Lady Tiger Volleyball Team

Congressman Honors CU Lady Tiger Volleyball Team

Congressman Brett Guthrie, Campbellville Mayor Brenda Allen and Taylor County Judge Executive Eddie Rogers presented special recognitions to the Campbellsville University women’s volleyball team Friday. Shown are: (L-R) Campbellsville Athletic Director Rusty Hollingsworth, Rogers, Allen, CU players Caitlin Dresing, Whitney Haynes, Shannon Cahill, Guthrie, CU players Brooke Marcum and Samantha James, and coaches Amy Eckenfels and Randy LeBleu. (Photo Courtesy of Richard RoBards, Campbellsville University)



Campbellsville University volleyball team recognized for national title by U.S. Rep. Guthrie and local officals


By CHRIS MEGGINSON, Campbellsville University Sports Information.



CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. -- The first of several national and state recognitions for the 2009 Campbellsville University NCCAA women’s volleyball national championship team took place Friday on CU’s campus in the Technology Training Center.

Congressman Brett Guthrie , R-2nd District, presented the Lady Tigers with a copy of his comments made in the U.S. House of Representatives on Dec. 10, 2009 recognizing the team – one week following winning the national title Dec. 5 in Kissimmee, Fla.


“What a great honor. Not many people get to be called national champions,” Guthrie told the players in attendance. “It brings great recognition to the university. Young people out in public see you and now look up to you for this accomplishment.”

Guthrie also stressed the historical moment of the win.

“This is part of the permanent record for the 111th Congress. Your name is in the history books forever,” Guthrie said.

Following Guthrie’s presentation, Campbellsville Mayor Brenda Allen and Taylor County Judge Executive Eddie Rogers presented a joint proclamation to the team.

Taylor County Judge Executive Eddie Rogers, second from left, and Campbellsville Mayor Brenda Allen present a joint proclamation to Campbellsville University's Lady Tiger Volleyball Team celebrating their national title. Pictured, from left, are, Congressman Guthrie, Rogers, Allen and Randy LeBleu, head volleyball coach. In back are team members Caitlin Dresing, Whitney Haynes, Shannon Cahill. (Campbellsville University Photo by Ashley Zsedenyi)

“We’re extremely proud we have a national championship team in Campbellsville,” Allen said. “We know Campbellsville University has done a lot of things to put Campbellsville on the map, and this is just one more.”


Rogers said he can’t begin to express how proud Campbellsville and Taylor County is of the team and closed his remarks with an affection, “We love you.”

With school not in session until Jan. 19, only a handful of players were in attendance for Friday’s recognition. Joining Athletic Director Rusty Hollingsworth, outgoing head coach Randy LeBleu and incoming head coach Amy Eckenfels were LaGrange native Brooke Marcum and Louisville natives Shannon Cahill, Caitlin Dresing, Whitney Haynes and Samantha James.


“It is an honor to have Congressman Guthrie, Mayor Allen and Judge Rogers take the time to be on campus for this special recognition,” Hollingsworth said. “This is a special moment for our players, coaches and school. We look forward to the celebrations that are to come.”


In addition to winning the National Christian College Athletic Association championship, Campbellsville University completed the season with a record 38 wins and had numerous players reach career milestones during the year.

The championship celebration will continue Jan. 23, as the volleyball team will be recognized at halftime of the men’s basketball home game against St. Catharine College. An autograph session with the players will take place before the game in the Powell Athletic Center lobby. Game time is 4 p.m. and is preceded by a women’s basketball game at 2 p.m. Following the game, CU will hold its senior recognition banquet for volleyball in the Winters Dining Hall.

On Feb. 17, the team will travel to the Kentucky State Capitol in Frankfort, where they will meet with Gov. Steve Beshear and be recognized by their local state legislators, Sen. Jimmy Higdon (R – District 14) and Rep. Bam Carney (R – District 51).

U.S. Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell is also expected to recognize the team at a time to be announced.